L-R: Jon Clark (from Consumers Energy), Charles Bazner, Jason Sparks, Rep. John Moolenaar, Marissa Boerman (from TrueNorth), Sakinah Howard, Jonathan Hirte, and Monica Moody (from THAW).

DTE Energy team members traveled to Washington D.C. on Feb. 7 for the annual LIHEAP Action Day, hosted by the National Energy and Utility Affordability Coalition (NEUAC). This event connects policymakers on Capitol Hill to discuss the importance of the LIHEAP program, which provides funds to help vulnerable families pay their heating bills. This event gathered nearly 300 gas and electric utility companies, low-income energy assistance organizations, state and local fuel funds and other charitable organizations – the most ever for an in-person LIHEAP Action Day.  


The DTE team was represented by Evette Griffie, Jason Sparks, Sakinah Howard, Charles Bazner and Maria Christian from our Energy Advocacy Group, along with Winston Feeheley and Jonathan Hirte from Corporate & Government Affairs. DTE is a longstanding member of NEUAC and served as the role of “state leader” this year. DTE team members organized and ran meetings with Michigan’s congressional offices on behalf of advocates who may have never participated in a Capitol Hill meeting before. Some of these advocates included organizations such as The Heat and Warmth Fund (THAW), TrueNorth Community Services and the Salvation Army. 


L-R: Lindsay Biscardi (from Consumer’s Energy), Zach Prior (from Consumer’s Energy), Winston Feeheley, Saunteel Jenkins (from THAW), Maria Christian, Rep. Shri Thanedar, Geoffrey Bierbower (from Salvation Army), Evette Griffie and Gabe Terry (from Consumer’s Energy).

This year’s Action Day was a success, resulting in 1,100 organization signatures on the Fiscal Year 2025 LIHEAP All-Parties Letter, which urges Congress to provide adequate funding for LIHEAP in 2025. The DTE team had the opportunity to meet with Michigan’s representatives in Congress, including Shri Thanedar, John James, Jack Bergman and John Moolenaar. 


Thank you to the team that traveled to D.C. to champion such an important program for vulnerable customers.




L-R: Maria Christian, Evette Griffie, Rep. John James, Geoffrey Bierbower (from Salvation Army), Zach Prior (from Consumer’s Energy) and Saunteel Jenkins (from THAW).